Walmart’s exploitation revealed. The first 1000 people to use this link will get a 2 month free trial of Skillshare Premium Membership: https://skl.sh/ourchangingclimate7

In this Our Changing Climate environmental video essay, I look at why Walmart is so cheap. Specifically, the video investigates the hidden environmental costs of Walmart and tackles whether or not Walmart is actually as sustainable as they claim. For over a decade and a half, Walmart has asserted itself as an environmental leader by constructing new renewable projects, minimizing their waste, and leaning on their supply chain suppliers to become more sustainable. But Walmart’s razor-thin margins, cheap costs, and hypergrowth mindset have made all of these sustainable efforts useless. Walmart is polluting more than ever and as it continues to roll out options like 2-hour shipping, it will move further from a zero-carbon company and towards an environmentally destructive one.

Help me make more videos like this via Patreon:  http://bit.ly/2iz4lIV
Email List:  https://www.subscribepage.com/ourchangingclimate
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/OurClimateNow
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/occvideos/
Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/occ.climate/

I use Epidemic Sound for some of my music:  http://epidemicsound.com/creator

For the rest of my music, I use Artlist.io. You can get 2 months free of Artlist.io with this link: https://artlist.io/Charlie-278823
_______________________

Resources:
1. Walmart wants to be environmentally friendly — and discovers just how difficult ‘sustainability’ is (MarketWatch):
2. Green Power Partnership Top 30 Retail | Green Power Partnership (EPA):  https://www.epa.gov/greenpower/green-power-partnership-top-30-retail
3. ESG Commitments & Progress (Walmart):  https://corporate.walmart.com/esgreport/data
4. Behind the Hype of Walmart’s Sustainability Efforts (Earther):  https://earther.gizmodo.com/behind-the-hype-of-walmart-s-sustainability-efforts-1829931295
5. Walmart tried to make sustainability affordable. Here’s what happened (The Conversation):  https://theconversation.com/walmart-tried-to-make-sustainability-affordable-heres-what-happened-76771
6. Walmart’s Emergent Low-Cost Sustainable Product Strategy (Spicer and Hyatt):  https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/10.1177/0008125617695287
7. Global 500 (Fortune):  https://fortune.com/global500/2019/walmart/
8. Everything Wrong With Walmart (Brand Sins via YouTube):  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ_V5q6fv5E
9. ‘Greenwashing’ Costing Walmart $1 Million (Environmental Leader):  https://www.environmentalleader.com/2017/02/greenwashing-costing-walmart-1-million/
10. Walmart’s 2018 Carbon Emissions (CDP):  https://www.cdp.net/en/formatted_responses/responses?campaign_id=66216852&discloser_id=832599&locale=en&organization_name=Walmart%2C+Inc.&organization_number=20402&program=Investor&project_year=2019&redirect=https%3A%2F%2Fcdp.credit360.com%2Fsurveys%2F9hz110bc%2F55149&survey_id=65670419
11. Walmart’s Miley Cyrus Jewelry Contains Cadmium (CNBC):  https://www.cbsnews.com/news/walmarts-miley-cyrus-jewelry-contains-cadmium/
12. Wal-Mart Is Fined $82 Million Over Mishandling of Hazardous Wastes (NY Times):  https://www.nytimes.com/2013/05/29/business/wal-mart-is-fined-82-million-over-mishandling-of-hazardous-wastes.html

#Walmart #ClimateChange #HiddenCosts

See source

Any reaction?
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0